Skip to main content

Important Summits of Indian Relevance

Summits are the major areas of General Knowledge where questions appear frequently for Civil Services, Group 1 & 2 and other competitive exams. The questions from the Summits may appear in the following pattern:

Which of the following is not a member country of the Summit?
When did the first Summit took place and where?
What is the number of the Summit which took place recently?
Where the upcoming Summit does takes place?
Here we are discussing about the Summits which are more or less relevant to India and have high stakes from the exam point of view.

The G20 comprises a mix of the world's largest advanced and emerging economies.
G20 represents about two-thirds of the world's population, 85 per cent of global gross domestic product and over 75 per cent of global trade.
The members of the G20 are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States and the European Union.

Past Summits:
8th- Saint Petersburg, Russia, September 5–6, 2013
7th- Los Cabos, Mexico, June 18–19, 2012
6th- Cannes, France, November 3–4, 2011
5th- Seoul Lee, South Korea, November 11–12, 2010
4th-Toronto, Canada, June 26–27, 2010
3rd- Pittsburgh, United States, September 24–25, 2009
2nd- London, United Kingdom, April 2, 2009
1st- Washington, United States, November 14–15, 2008

Upcoming Summit:
9th- Brisbane, Australia, November 15–16, 2014

BRICS comprises Federative Republic of Brazil, the Russian Federation, the Republic of India, the People's Republic of China and the Republic of South Africa.

The acronym "BRICs" was initially formulated in 2001 by economist Jim O'Neill, of Goldman Sachs, in a report on growth prospects for the economies of Brazil, Russia, India and China.

BRICS represents 26% of the planet's land mass, and is home to 46% of the world's population.

Past Summits:
1st- Yekaterinburg, Russia, 16 June, 2009
2nd- Brasília, Brazil, 15 April, 2010
3rd- Sanya, China, 14 April, 2011
4th- New Delhi, India, 29 March, 2012
5th- Durban, South Africa, 26–27 March 2013
6th- Brasília, Brazil, 14–16 July 2014

Upcoming Summit:
7th- Russia, 2015

The Bandung Asian-African Conference of April 18-24, 1955 is the most immediate antecedent to the creation of the Non-Aligned Movement.

The Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) was created and founded during the collapse of the colonial system.

The NAMs actions during the early days were a key factor in the decolonization process, which led later to the attainment of freedom and independence by many countries.

At present, the Movement has 120 Member States, 17 Observer Countries and 10 Observer organizations.

Past Summits:
16th- Tehran, Iran, 26–31 August, 2012
15th- Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt, 11–16 July, 2009
14th- Havana, Cuba, 15–16 September, 2006
2nd-Cairo, United Arab Republic, 5–10 October, 1964
1st-Belgrade, Yugoslavia, 1–6 September 1961

South Asian Association for Regional Co-operation (SAARC) was founded in 1985 and dedicated to economic, technological, social, and cultural development emphasizing collective self-reliance.

Its seven founding members are Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Afghanistan joined the organization in 2007.

SAARC Headquarters are in Kathmandu, Nepal.

Summit Declarations provide directives and mandate for regional co-operation.

Past Summits:
17th- Addu, Maldives, 10–11 November, 2011
16th-Thimphu, Bhutan, 28–29 April, 2010
15th- Colombo, Sri Lanka, 1–3 August, 2008
14th- New Delhi, India, 3–4 April 2007
2nd-Bangalore, India, 16–17 November, 1986
1st-Dhaka, Bangladesh, 7–8 December, 1985

Upcoming Summit:
18th- Kathmandu, Nepal, November, 2014

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration by the Founding Fathers of ASEAN, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.

Brunei joined the group in January 1984, followed by Vietnam in 1995, Laos and Myanmar in 1997 and Cambodia in 1999.

Past Summits:
24th- Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar, 10-11 May, 2014
23rd- Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam, 9-10 October, 2013
22nd- Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam, 24-25 April, 2013
2nd- Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 4-5 August 1977
1st-, Bali, Indonesia, 23-24 February, 1976

Upcoming Summit:
25th- Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar, November, 2014

East Asia Summit
The concept of an East Asia Grouping was first promoted in 1991 by then Malaysian Prime Minister Mahathir bin Mohammad.

Established in 2005, East Asia Summit is a forum of 18 countries of the Asia-Pacific region to further the objectives of regional peace, security and prosperity.

The membership of EAS consists of ten ASEAN Member States (i.e. Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand, the Philippines and Vietnam), Australia, China, India, Japan, New Zealand, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation and the USA.

Past Summits:
8th- Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei, 10 October, 2013
7th- Phnom Penh, Cambodia, 20 November, 2012
6th- Bali, Indonesia, 19 November, 2011
2nd-Cebu City, Philippines, 15 January, 2007
1st- Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 14 December, 2005

Ongoing Summit:
9th- Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar, November, 2014

The India-Brazil-South Africa Dialogue Forum, IBSA is a coordinating mechanism amongst three emerging, multi ethnic and multicultural democracies.

IBSA Dialogue Forum was formally launched on 6 June 2003 through the adoption of the landmark "Brasilia Declaration".

Past Summits:
6th- New Delhi, India, 16 May, 2013
5th- Tshwane, South Africa, 18 October, 2011
4th- Brasilia, Brazil, 15 April, 2010
3rd- New Delhi, India, 15 October 2008
2nd- Tshwane, South Africa, 17 October, 2007
1st- Brasilia, Brazil, 13 September, 2006

Upcoming Summit:
7th- New Delhi, India, 2015

G8 is the group of eight highly industrialized nations—France, Germany, Italy, the United Kingdom, Japan, the United States, Canada, and Russia.

When the group was formed in 1975, it was known as the G6, comprising France, West Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

The summit became known as G7 in 1976 with the addition of Canada. Russia was added to the group in 1998. However, presently Russia’s candidature is under suspension.

The aggregate GDP of G8 states makes up some 50 percent of the global economy.

Past Summits:
40th- Brussels, Belgium, June 4–5, 2014
39th- Fermanagh, United Kingdom, June 17–18, 2013
38th- Camp David, United States, May 18–19, 2012
2nd-Dorado, Puerto Rico, United States, June 27–28, 1976
1st- Rambouillet, France, November 15–17, 1975

Upcoming Summit:
41st- Schloss Elmau, Germany, June 4–5, 2015
Published date : 12 Sep 2014 04:36PM

Photo Stories