Skip to main content

Heads of Government Apex Bodies

The apex bodies of political, administrative, social, financial, defence and security wings of the country are headed by the people who are leaders and decision makers at highest level.
You can find their names in the majority of the previous question papers as part of the general awareness.

Apex Governing Body in India

Head of the Organization

Chief Election Commissioner of India

Dr Nazim Zaidi

Chairperson, National Human Rights Commission

Justice K. G. Balakrishnan

Central Vigilance Commissioner


Chairman, National Commission for Minorities

Naseem Ahamad

Chairman, National Commission for SCs

P. L. Punia

Chairman, National Commission for STs

Rameshwar Oraon

Chairperson, National Commission for Women

Lalitha Kumaramangalam

Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission

Ratan Kumar Sinha

Chairman, ISRO

A S Kiran Kumar

Chairman, Union Public Service Commission

Deepak Gupta

Chairman, National Knowledge Commission

Sam Pitroda

Chairman, University Grants Commission

Ved Prakash

Chairman, Central Water Commission of India

Ashwin B. Pandya

Chairman, 14th Finance Commission of India

Y.Venugopal Reddy

Governor, Reserve Bank of India

Raghuram Rajan

Chairman, Securities and Exchange Board of India

Upendra Kumar Sinha

Chairman, Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority

T. S. Vijayan

Cabinet Secretary of India

Ajit Kumar Seth

National Security Adviser

Ajit Kumar Doval

Secretary-General of the Lok Sabha

Anoop Mishra

Secretary-General of the Rajya Sabha

Shumsher K. Sheriff

Attorney General of India

Mukul Rohatgi

Solicitor General of India

Ranjit Kumar

Comptroller and Auditor General of India

Shashi Kant Sharma

Principal Scientific Adviser

Rajagopala Chidambaram

Chairman, Railway Board

AK Mittal

Foreign Secretary

S Jaishankar

Union Home Secretary

Anil Goswami

Finance Secretary

Rajiv Mehrishi

Defence and Security

Chief of Army Staff

Dalbir Singh Suhag

Chief of Air Staff

Air Chief Marshal Arup Raha

Chief of Naval Staff

Robin K Dhowan

Chief of Integrated Defence Staff

Air Marshal PP Reddy

Director General, Border Security Force

D K Pathak

Director General, Central Reserve Police Force

Prakash Mishra

Director General, Central Industrial Security Force

Arvind Ranjan

Director, Central Bureau of Investigation

Anil Kumar Sinha

Director, Intelligence Bureau

Dineshwar Sharma

Director General, National Investigation Agency

Sharad Kumar

National Disaster Response Force

O. P. Singh

Director, Research and Analysis Wing

Rajinder Khanna

Director General, National Security Guard

J N Choudary

Published date : 28 Jan 2015 04:55PM

Photo Stories