Skip to main content

Jnanpith Awards 2020 and 2021: Check Winners

56th and 57th Jnanpith Awards were announced recently, for the year 2020 and 2021 respectively.
Jnanpith Awards 2020 and 2021: Check Winners
Jnanpith Awards 2020 and 2021: Check Winners

Assamese Poet Nilmani Phookan Jr. and Konkani Novelist Damodar Mauzo have emerged as the winners of 56th and 57th Award respectively. They were selected for their contribution to Indian literature.
Jnanpith Awards are India’s highest literary honour, which is bestowed on the writers for their outstanding contribution in Literature.
Both Phookan and Mauzo are also the winners of Sahitya Akademi Award. They are known for their significant contribution to the respective regional literature. DamodarMauzo is from Majorda in Goa while Nilmani Phookan is from Guwahati in Assam.
Jnanpith Award is the oldest and highest literary award. Award is honoured annually by Bharatiya Jnanpith to an author for their contribution to literature. The award was established in 1961. It is bestowed only on the Indian writers who are write in the Indian languages mentioned in the 8th schedule of Indian Constitution, besides English.

Published date : 10 Dec 2021 05:59PM

Photo Stories