Skip to main content

Full List of Arjuna Award Winners 2023

26 sportspersons received the Arjuna Award on January 9, 2024 from Droupadi Murmu, the President of India. The list mostly features athletes from the Asian Games 2023 where India made history by winning over 100 medals in a single edition of the event.
Arjuna Awards 2023

Only one cricketer, Mohammed Shami, was bestowed with the award after he finished as the leading wicket-taker of World Cup 2023 when India lost to Australia in the final. Sheetal Devi, the world's first armless woman archer, who won three medals in the Para Games in Hangzhou, is also a part of the list.

Also Check: Weekly Current Affairs: In the Climate Change Performance Index (CCPI) 2024, what position did India achieve?

Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar and Esha Singh, who both helped India win as many as 22 medals in shooting, also received the Arjuna award. Naorem Roshibina Devi won the silver medal in Hangzhou, and she also features in the list.

Ayhika Mukherjee, who won the bronze medal in women's doubles along with Sutirtha Mukherjee, is a part of the 26-member list as well. R Vaishali, the sister of 18-year-old Rameshbabu Praggnanandhaa, was also a part of the list.

Full List of Arjuna Award Winners 2023:

Ms Aditi Gopichand Swami Archery
Shri Ojas Pravin Deotale
Ms Parul Chaudhary Athletics
Shri Mohameed Hussamuddin Boxing
Ms R Vaishali Chess
Shri Mohammed Shami Cricket
Shri Anush Agarwalla Equestrian
Ms Divyakriti Singh Equestrian Dressage
Ms Diksha Dagar Golf
Shri Krishan Bahadur Pathak Hockey
Ms Pukhrambam Sushila Chanu Hockey
Shri Pawan Kumar Kabaddi
Ms Ritu Negi Kabaddi
Ms Nasreen Kho-Kho
Ms Pinki Lawn Bowls
Shri Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar Shooting
Ms Esha Singh Shooting
Shri Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu Squash
Ms Ayhika Mukherjee Table Tennis
Shri Sunil Kumar Wrestling
Ms Antim Panghal Wrestling
Ms Naorem Roshibina Devi Wushu
Ms Sheetal Devi Para Archery
Shri Illuri Ajay Kumar Reddy Blind Cricket
Para Canoeing Ms Prachi Yadav

The Arjuna Award is India's second highest sporting honor, and it is given to recognize outstanding achievements in sports. The award was instituted in 1961, and it is named after Arjuna, the legendary archer from the Mahabharata. The 2023 awardees come from a variety of sports, including archery, badminton, cricket, hockey, shooting, and table tennis. They have all achieved great things in their respective sports, and they are an inspiration to young athletes everywhere.

Weekly Current Affairs (Sports) 16-22 December 2023 Bitbank: Which state secured the top spot in the medal tally at the Khelo India Para Games 2023?

Published date : 09 Jan 2024 04:01PM

Photo Stories